The Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards


The Library Project
4 Temple Bar, Dublin 2

Dates: 3-27 July

Opening hours: Mon-Fri 11am-6pm/ Sat-Sun 12-6pm

The Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards

Initiated in November 2011 by Aperture Foundation and Paris Photo, the Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards celebrate the photobook’s contribution to the evolving narrative of photography, with prizes in two categories: First PhotoBook and Photobook of the Year. The exhibition at The Library Project offers the visitor the chance to browse the 30 books shortlisted, including the two winners.



The Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation Photobook Awards 2013: The shortlist



The twenty short-listed titles for First Photobook are:


Photographer: Óscar Monzón
Publisher: RVB Books, Paris / Dalpine, Madrid


World of Details
Photographer: Viktoria Binschtok
Publisher: Distanz, Berlin


A Period of Juvenile Prosperity
Photographer: Mike Brodie
Publisher: Twin Palms Publishers, Santa Fe, N.Mex.


Photographer: Delphine Burtin
Publisher: Self-published


Speaking of scars
Photographer: Teresa Eng
Publisher: If/Then Books, London


Photographer: Craig Fineman
Publisher: Stussy / Dashwood Books, New York


The Canaries
Photographer: Thilde Jensen
Publisher: LENA Publications, Truxton, N.Y.


Nine Nameless Mountains
Photographers: Maanantai Collective
Publisher: Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg, Germany


Top Secret: Images from the Stasi Archives
Editor: Simon Menner
Publisher: Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern, Germany


Photographer: Adam Pańczuk
Publisher: Self-published


The Fourth Wall
Photographer: Max Pinckers
Publisher: Self-published


History of the Visit
Photographer: Daniel Reuter
Publisher: Self-published


Editor: Thomas Sauvin
Publisher: Archive of Modern Conflict, London


Beautiful Pig
Photographer: Ben Schonberger
Publisher: Self-published


Grays the Mountain Sends
Photographer: Bryan Schutmaat
Publisher: Silas Finch Foundation, New York


Down These Mean Streets
Photographer: Will Steacy
Publisher: b.frank books, Zurich


Ad Infinitum
Photographer: Kris Vervaeke
Publisher: Self-published


Return to Sender
Photographer: Sipke Visser
Publisher: Self-published


Dalston Anatomy
Photographer: Lorenzo Vitturi
Publisher: Jibijana Books in association with SPBH Editions, London and Milan


La Montagne Dorée
Photographer: Myriam Ziehli
Publisher: Self-published

The ten short-listed titles for Photobook of the Year are:


A01 [COD.] — A27 [S | COD.23] Photographer: Rosângela Rennó
Publisher: Self-published


Holy Bible
Editors: Adam Broomberg and Oliver Chanarin
Publisher: MACK / Archive of Modern Conflict, London


New York Arbor
Photographer: Mitch Epstein
Publisher: Steidl, Göttingen, Germany


Iris Garden
Photographer: William Gedney / Text: John Cage
Publisher: Little Brown Mushroom, St. Paul


The Black Photo Album / Look at Me: 1890–1950
Photographer: Santu Mofokeng
Publisher: Steidl, Göttingen


Surrendered Myself to the Chair of Life
Photographer: Jin Ohashi
Publisher: AKAAKA, Tokyo


Rasen Kaigan
Photographer: Lieko Shiga
Publisher: AKAAKA, Tokyo


Birds of the West Indies
Photographer: Taryn Simon
Publisher: Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern, Germany


The Pigs
Photographer: Carlos Spottorno
Publisher: Phree and Editorial RM, Madrid


War/Photography: Images of Armed Conflict and Its Aftermath
Photographers: Various
Authors: Anne Wilkes Tucker and Will Michels with Natalie Zelt
Publisher: Museum of Fine Arts, Houston / Yale University Press, New Haven, Conn./London